Welcome to the NEW Infrared Training Forum. To view the old message board, please click here.World Class Infrared Training for Thermography Professionals

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Temperature measurement in an inaccessible location [camera FLIR] ?
10-28-2016, 10:21 AM
Temperature measurement in an inaccessible location [camera FLIR] ?
Hi everyone,

This is my first message on this forum that i just discovered today, I hope it's the right spot to post. Smile
I hope I won't sound too dumb (i'm a beginner in infrared thermography) also english is not my native language.

So my problem. I have to realise a temperature measurement with no contact on a piece. I have at my disposal a FLIR camera ( http://www.flir.eu/science/display/?id=50093 ) that would be great for my tests.
Only problem : during the test it's impossible that the camera is perpendicular to the surface that I want to observe (which is important) due to the machine's congestion. Until a 20° angle it seems that it could be ok, but here it would be more like 45/50°.

So i'm looking for solutions, I don't know if there are some techniques to deflect (with mirrors?) the infrared radiation to get it to go on the camera? If it's simple to do or if it's more simple to use thermistors near the piece and calculate a field of temperature? Or others techniques to measure a field of temperature in an inaccessible location? I know there are some little carriageable camera, but they have to be used by hand and I can't be near the piece during the essay.

So here it is if someone know a technique to measure a field of temperature without contact or a trick to use a camera FLIR on those conditions. Sounds like using mirrors is a good idea, but I don't see anything on papers that I read, about using mirrors to measure with a FLIR temperature in an inaccessible location, so I wonder it's not that simple and multiply sources of uncertainties?

Thanks for reading me!
Find all posts by this user